Constructed in 1934 – 1936 by silent movie actor, Francis Lederer and his wife, Marion, it was originally built as a horse stable housing Mrs. Lederer’s horse, Gypsy. In 1967, Mrs. Lederer along with Mary and Obdulio Galeana and Jody Hutchison opened the Canoga Mission Gallery, featuring folk art and artifacts from Mexico. The building was named a Historical Cultural Monument #135 on December 4, 1974 by the Los Angeles Cultural Heritage Commission. The stone and adobe building replicates the style of the original California missions. With 1.5 acres of exquisite shaded grounds and gently meandering stone paths, the monument has a Spanish-style roof and was built of stone quarried on their ranch located across the street.
Inside the building the various rooms of our store contain American and International antiques, as well as eclectic furnishings for home and garden.
Each stall represents a different theme of decor ranging from Movie Memorabilia to Victorian to Country to Wrought Iron Accents. Handmade items from local artists are also featured, such as jewelry and small unique paintings.
Two of the inside rooms are reserved and decorated for the comfort of the bride and groom during their wedding reception celebration day.